“But what about second breakfast?”

Image

Every now and then I try my hand at cooking something I’ve never tried before. I am a creature of habit and I’d much rather bake a loaf of bread or make cinnamon rolls or even make a roast beef before I try something new. But it’s a good habit to get into, making new and delicious foods, and even the failures are an interesting journey!

Today’s experiment was egg free crepes. This was because I was out of eggs, but also because the woman Colin loves (his is an unrequited love, she lives far far away in the Bay area and doesn’t really know he’s pining for her in Arizona) is allergic to eggs and if he’s ever to properly woo her, he’d better make breakfast for her.

And what do you know? They turned out perfectly. Crepes are a bit tricky but if you keep them small they will swirl easier and cook more evenly!

 

The recipe – (adapted from Mokapink and Marquis and Emily)

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 1 Tbsp Vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 Tbsp Brown Sugar (this made them less sweet, white sugar would sweeten these right up)
  • 1 Tbsp Cinnamon
  • pinch or two of salt

Combine your dry ingredients and wet ingredients in two separate bowls. Then mix together vigorously until there are no more lumps in the batter. Be diligent! This takes a bit.

Grease your pan, I used coconut oil because it lends a little more natural sweetness (can you tell I just want the crepes to be a vehicle for the toppings?) and cooks nicely. Heat it up on medium heat.

Pour 2 tablespoons of crepe batter into the pan and swirl. I did this by pouring 1 tablespoon in an open circle and then using the second tablespoon to fill it. This made a nice looking crepe!

Cook until the crepe is browned on either side, about 25-30 seconds per side. (your stovetop may vary!)

Serve with lemon juice and powdered sugar, bananas and chocolate syrup, blueberries and cream or any number of fabulous combinations!

Enjoy!

Leave a comment